Events

Max will be talking about Abyss at the following events:

WIMBLEDON FESTIVAL – Sunday, 25th September, 1.00pm

MARLBOROUGH LITERARY FESTIVAL – Sunday 2nd October

WARWICK WORDS HISTORY FESTIVAL – Monday 3rd October, 7.30pm

HOW TO ACADEMY, Conway Hall, London Wednesday 5th October, 6.30pm

HUNGERFORD BOOKSHOP, Herongate Club Thursday 6th October

CHELTENHAM FEASTIVAL – Friday 7th October

CHORLEY WOOD BOOKSHOP, Memorial Hall – Monday 10th October, 7.30pm

TOPPING & Co, BATH – Wednesday 19th October, 7.30pm

WELLS FESTIVAL OF LITERATURE – Thursday 20th October, 4.15pm

DORCHESTER LITERARY FESTIVAL – Friday 22nd October, 6.00pm

WANTAGE LITFEST – Monday 24th October, 8.00pm

SHERBORNE LITFEST – Tuesday 25th October, 7.00pm

DAUNT BOOKS, MARYLEBONE, HIGH STREET – Thursday 27th October, 7pm

TOPPING & Co. ELY – Monday, 7th November, 7.30pm

Other Articles

The Kremlin always falls prey to pride and paranoia

       During the 1962 Missile Crisis, on the evening of 23 October a curious episode took place in Moscow.  A few hours after President Kennedy announced the discovery of nuclear weapons in Cuba, the Soviet leader or vozhd Nikita Khrushchev determined to show the world that he was unafraid.  He… Read More

RAVE REVIEWS FOR SOLDIERS

‘These accounts show the reality of military life ... A pointillist portrait of enthralling sensitivity ... stories tumble from the pages of this book like gems from a pirate’s chest ... The anecdotes about female soldiers in this book are fascinating’Gerard DeGroot, The Times Read More

CHERISHING THE WARRIOR SPIRIT CAN SEEM LIKE A LOSING BATTLE

First published in The Times on Saturday, 13 November 2021.Tomorrow the Queen will forsake her enforced rest to attend the annual Service of Remembrance at the Cenotaph [this was published before her last-minute withdrawal].  It is an occasion that she views with a special sense of duty, because of her… Read More